I’ve got my natural hair back!!!!!

So…. after over 10 hours of taking my yarn braids out, I got my hair back. Truth be told, I’m not sure that I would do it again simply because of the time invested in putting them in and taking them out. Plus, my hair grew so quickly that after about 5 weeks of having them in, I had to re-do the front because my new growth was poking out.

Anyways, now that I have my hair back, I am so excited to try new things. The first thing I did after washing my hair with the Taliah Waajid shampoo was to detangle it. I applied the Taliah Waajid conditioner, parted it in four large sections, and combed from the ends to the root. The opposite way (down) creates too much potential for breakage. I then moisturized my hair with my homemade whipped shea butter moisturizer (scented with dried lavender).  What’s in it, you ask? Well, about 2 parts shea butter (which I melted using a double boiler), 1 part coconut oil, some olive oil, and some vegetable glycerin. I whipped it using a handheld blender until it was smooth and glossy.

After moisturizing my hair, I twisted it in about 15 large two-strand twists and slept with it overnight in my satin bonnet (ladies: you have to wear a satin scarf or sleep on a satin pillowcase!). I then took out the twists for a chunky two-strand twistout.  I wanted you all to see the final result, so here are some pictures.

2 comments
  1. AD said:

    what’s a double boiler? i want to make my own hair moisturizer too.

    • Hi,

      Thanks for the comment. Essentially, boil a 3/4 full pot of water on your stove. Put the Shea butter in a heat-safe bowl that will fit comfortably inside the pot on the stove. Depending on how much shea butter is in the bowl,
      You want the bottom to almost be floating in the water
      From the pot. Place the bowl in the pot and let the Shea butter melt. It will do this automatically because of the heat from the water. Once it reaches the desired consistency, remove the bowl with the melted Shea butter. I hope this helps! How far along are you in your natural hair journey?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

