I woke up today…

I woke up today feeling refreshed. Which is unusual for me. Typically, I’m sleepy and not well-rested. Even a nightmare couldn’t keep me from waking up and smiling quietly to myself. I was especially excited because I was thinking about all of the good food I had at home, ready to be cooked. The day before, I went to one of my favorite places: the DeKalb Farmers Market. If you love food and live in Atlanta, I suggest trying it out. Check out http://www.dekalbfarmersmarket.com, at 3000 E. Ponce De Leon, Decatur, GA 30030.

For me, grocery shopping is not an errand, it’s not a chore, and it’s most definitely not something that I dislike. I absolutely love grocery shopping. I didn’t realize how much until I took someone with me and said person did not share my enthusiasm. Excitedly pointing out Brazilian mango nectar that was reminiscent of my time studying abroad in Salvador, Bahia. Insisting that said person buy all types of dried fruit. And why? “Because it’s good for you and it tastes good”. He had to quietly remind me that this was his first time in the YDFM, and that he was feeling slightly overwhelmed. Which I did not help at all. I was so energetic I was practically bouncing down the aisles, conjuring up images of perfectly plated dishes of steak tacos with yellow rice and black beans. Ooh, with a sweet mango salsa. I’m salivating just thinking about it.

Anyway, back to the matter at hand. For me, walking down the aisles of a grocery store (especially YDFM) is a time for me to forget the boring, mundane daily ritual of getting up, going to work, going to the gym, etc. Cooking and eating are the two parts of my day that I absolutely love. Which is why when I returned home today, I immediately started in the kitchen. I prepared a chicken sausage, tomato, spinach, and cheddar cheese quiche along with an okra, corn, and tomato medley. Until the next time.

Leave a Reply

