Yarn braids

I recently decided to try something new with my hair. You see, I was tired of twists and twist-outs and puffs. I wanted to give my hair time to grow uninterrupted, with minimal manipulation. This is commonly known as a protective style because it protects your hair from unnecessary combing and accidental breakage.  So, after seeing the organizer of my natural hair group with yarn braids, I decided to get them. 13 hours later (on Mother’s Day, no less), my new protective style for the summer was complete. And I could not be happier. The funny thing about my yarn braids is that people really believe that they are locs from far away. Up close, you can tell that they are braids.So far, I’ve had my yarn braids in for a little less than a month. I can see my hair growth, which is impressive to say the least. I’ve tried doing a variety of styles and pin-ups, and will post pictures for all to see. A number of users on YouTube have been very helpful when it comes to styling and caring for my braids. In particular, I watched a lot of videos posted by Black Onyx on Youtube:

I plan on keeping these braids in for at least 2 months.

2 comments
  1. Tinuade Victoria Familuyi said:

    how much was the yarn

    • Hey! Thanks for stopping by. I brought the yarn from Wal Mart for about $2 a spool if I remember correctly. It was Red Heart Yarn and I needed about 1.5 spools. The pictures that I posted show the length of my yarn braids. But…..she did cut them to be the same length so depending on how long you want them, I would recommend you get 2 so you have plenty.

Leave a Reply

