I can add published author to my repertoire

It finally arrived! My first book has now been officially published and is available for purchase on Amazon.com. I am so happy to say that one of my life-long dreams has finally come true. My book is essentially my master’s thesis, for which I researched the potential influence of gentrification on homicide rates in Chicago, IL from 1970 to 1995. As part of Emory’s requirements, I paid the fee to list my thesis in my university’s database of dissertations and theses. That is how my publisher found my book. I definitely recommend that if you have the opportunity, you do the same.

5 comments
  1. AMD said:

    congrats again~

  2. Congrats! I know my thesis is rotting away at the UL in my alma mater 🙂

  3. Alaina said:

    congratulations! so most theses aren’t published? did you have to pay anything? is it going to be distributed? as a soon-to-be grad student i’d love to know more!

    • Hi Alaina,

      I definitely appreciate it. Most theses are not published in the true sense of the word (i.e. an academic journal or publishing press). Those that choose to, can submit it for publication. I had to pay a small fee at Emory to have my thesis distributed online, which I believe totaled 30 or 40. It is a one-time fee, and basically lists your thesis in the ProQuest database. Depending on the publisher, they may or may not consider this a prior publication. And if you have already published your exact work elsewhere, you will not be able to publish it without drastic revisions. I’ll do some research into the exact amount I paid. And yes, my thesis is going to be distributed. It’s actually for sale on Amazon.com. 🙂

Leave a Reply

