I’ve got a new hair color!!!!

It’s been awhile since my last post. There are a lot of reasons for that: work, work, life, and some more work. But I am finally back. I did finish reading “Thank God I’m Natural” and I was able to visit Nia at Deeply Rooted.

Here are some updates:

Nia no longer works at Deeply Rooted. I am so sad about this because I think she’s a wonderful stylist. Depending on her pricing, I may just follow her wherever she goes. She re-dyed my hair the same color and cut it. I was not interested in paying additional for a style. But here’s a question about a disturbing trend. If you’re natural, have you ever been to a salon with a shampoo girl?

Let me tell you why I ask this. At Deeply Rooted, there was a very talkative shampoo girl. I complimented her on how vigorously she was washing my hair. That’s when she starts telling me that not a lot of people know how to shampoo properly, she’s one of the best, etc., she only gets paid this much and has to live off tips. Before that conversation, I had no idea that decorum suggested I was supposed to tip her. To be honest, I was absolutely floored. I wondered, what am I paying the stylist for? I have to tip the stylist and now the shampoo girl? I appreciated her hustle and enthusiasm, so I tipped her (not really wanting to). At the end of the day, I guess I can’t complain because Deeply Rooted is much cheaper than a lot of other natural salons in the area. But to me, this “outsourcing” of stylist responsibilities leaves me wondering as a customer, “how does this really help me?” I suspect it’s meant to help the stylist.

On a lighter note, I do love the color. Here are some pictures.

My Herve Lager style dress

Tiffany at the W Buckhead

Leave a Reply

