Kohl’s Ghetto Fab Wig

Update: Both the Kohl’s Ghetto Fab Wig and the Mississippi Mud Flap Wig have been taken off Kohl’s website.

I am not someone that loses my temper often or quickly. But recently, my sister sent me a link to something that was incredibly problematic. Kohl’s (the “department store”) is offering a Ghetto Fab Wig for Halloween. It is on sale for $19.79 and here is the description:

Dance the night away in Halloween costume wigs. The disco-inspired Afro style of this adult wig makes it perfect for your festive outfit. Shop our full line of wigs and Halloween costumes at Kohls.com.

I’ve included a link so you can check it out for yourselves. Note the appearance of the model. But I ask you this question: where is the “white trash” wig, if we are perpetuating stereotypes? The closest thing to a “white trash” wig is the Mississippi Mud Flap Wig. However, notice the name.

For me, it is reminiscent of the ghetto parties that white frats used to throw (and still do). Just this past February, a white frat “allegedly” threw a Compton Cookout at UCSD (University of California at San Diego). The invite to this party read: “For those of you who are unfamiliar with ghetto chicks — Ghetto chicks usually have gold teeth, start fights and drama, and wear cheap clothes.”

2 comments
  1. I always wonder how Halloween traditions differ in different parts of the country. Anything unique where you are?

  2. Yes Kohl’s certainly will hear a lot of uproar regarding their advertising and selling stereotypical named wigs which brings racial controversy. After reading this, I have absolutely now no desire to shop and support this business. I never shop there anyway. Since I am living in Cali, I heard about that party down at UCSD. Nothing but biggotry and hate. Sad thing about it some people find it cute to dress up, act like, and portray something they know nothing about.

Leave a Reply

