A 21 Day Vegetarian Challenge

Lately, I’ve been an exceptionally enthusiastic carnivore. I’ve made pot roast, steak, salmon, chicken, turkey meatloaf…..the list goes on and on. Although my diet was balanced, I started to feel like I was just consuming too much meat. It was only when my stress level at work was extremely elevated that I started to question my eating habits. Mainly, my daily intake of food decreased substantially and I lost weight. This got me thinking. Maybe I need to change the way I’m eating. After a conversation with a friend regarding the Engine 2 Diet (a 28 day vegan challenge), I decided to initiate a 21 day vegetarian challenge. I’m doing vegetarian because I like cheese, honey, and other things far too much. I’m saying 21 days because it only takes 21 days to make or break a habit (or so they say). I am doing this on my own, finding vegetarian recipes all over.

During my trip to the DeKalb Farmer’s Market yesterday, I purchased a lot of ingredients to help me with this process. For instance, I purchased quinoa, couscous, tahini paste, chickpeas, tofu, and fruits and vegetables.

My first day
For breakfast this morning, I am eating my typical organic oatmeal from Costco. I’m not adding any additional butter or sugar or other sweetener.
For lunch, I am eating a Black Bean and Quinoa salad I found in the 2010 Annual Food and Wine Cookbook.
For snacks, I have sunflower seeds and a plum.
I also drink 2 quarts of water everyday and will continue doing that through this process. I don’t plan on increasing the amount I drink.
*I don’t know yet what I’m eating for dinner, but I have a lot to choose from.

Are you doing a vegetarian challenge? Or are you already a vegetarian? I welcome any advice, tips, recipe recommendations, etc. I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

