Week 2 of my vegetarian challenge

So far, this week has been (in a word), challenging. At the beginning of week 2, I visited some family for Easter dinner. While everyone else dined on salmon and chicken, I ate some healthy salads and vegetarian dishes. Because I had a hard time feeling full, the meat looked very appealing to me. It took every ounce of strength I had to turn down the meat. But, in the end, my resolve won out and I stuck with it.

For whatever reason, I did not think to purchase veggie burgers or meatless meat like they sell at Trader Joe’s. That would probably help with my frustration, because there is only so much tofu and quinoa a carnivore can eat in a 2 week period.

I am continuing to hold on, with about 1.5 weeks to go. In the interest of full disclosure, I have been enthusiastically looking forward to the juicy burger and fries I will have at the end of this challenge.

2 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    Congratulations on your 21 days of being a vegetarian. I am proud of you for sticking strong even during Easter. Holidays are usually my toughest time. Trader Joe’s veggie burgers are delicious. I love them so much. I definitely suggest you try them.

    I am doing the Paleo diet and have really developed a new appreciation for fruits and vegetables. I never knew that I liked blackberries or even kale. I definitely think that we have gotten to “meat focused” as a culture and that you truly feel better and healthier when you have more fruits and vegetables.

    • You are so right about Trader Joe’s veggie burgers. I finally bought some, and they are really delicious (and well-seasoned). This is definitely something that I will plan on keeping in the house. Look for an upcoming blog post about how eating vegetarian for 3 weeks has changed my outlook, appetite, and body.

Leave a Reply

