A few things I learned about healthy eating

How often have you made a decision, committed to it, shared it with someone else, and regretted your decision to share it? Hopefully, not too often. We live in the real world, though. Sometimes, this does and can happen. I am no exception. I began to question my decision to stop eating meat for 3 weeks once I told my friends and family. I got responses like “Why?” “Really?” “For what?” “Are you sure you want to do that?” “That’s interesting!” “Why 3 weeks?” “You can do it!”

When I started my challenge on April 17, I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into. After over 2 decades of eating meat, the impact that this can have on your body was never something I really questioned. On the flip side, I didn’t really know a lot about the impact of being a vegetarian. Because of this,I made a fatal error. I didn’t research how becoming a vegetarian (however temporarily) can affect your body, digestive system, weight, etc. I also didn’t really look into how to eat a balanced diet without meat. I didn’t know what to expect. Now, don’t get me wrong. This challenge wasn’t anything that I couldn’t handle. But anyone that knows me knows that I can’t stand being unprepared. This may have contributed to some anxiety that I began to feel during my challenge.

Even though I may have struggled through the challenge, I came out on the other side a newly informed carnivore (No, I will not become a vegetarian). But these are some of the things that I learned and will do differently in the future:

1) Use quinoa, tofu, seeds, nuts and beans for additional protein in my diet
Resource: go here for additional options and protein content of various foods.
2) Keep fresh herbs like parsley, thyme, chives, cilantro, etc., in the house. They are a really simple and easy way to add flavor to dishes. And if you’re worried about fresh herbs spoiling before you can use them, check out the resource below on freezing herbs.
Resource: Freezing herbs
3) Control meat portions.
Resource: American Cancer Society’s article on controlling portions

What’s your take on being a vegetarian? Or a healthy carnivore (that doesn’t have to be contradictory)? Have you or will you ever try it? Let me know.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

